Optimum Chaos

A long gap brings  a lot of things into focus. One month gap including a change of address and a hand fracture is enough for me to start worrying about the information overload and slipping blog rank {not that it had any}

Well have to start small as my single hand typing does not allow me first to function in the IT world and two does not allow me to type and use my computer correctly

The other day I had an idea that seemed far fetched and incomprehensible for my non mathematically tuned brain I have a brain that is fairly good at patterns and discerning spatial mathematics and geometry but something in algebra is beyond me watching two different events triggered a thought Under the right set of conditions and within limited range of operations Optimum Chaos is essential for better Operation and Productivity

Event one there is a traffic signal enroute to my office and previously it was a tri junction with no apparent signaling system or a traffic monitoring cop previously traffic used to move with individual drivers in individual lanes figuring out when to stop or when to cross the junction point There was no congestion as each driver would selfishly figure out the best possible way to avoid traffic accidents and congestion Now the junction has a traffic signal with a cop monitoring the flow and the congestion has increased

Event two is Dosa vending process in my cafeteria During lunch time the guy who collects the coupons and places the order to the chef does it randomly and in a chaotic manner The variables in his head are the processing of the coupons and shouting of the orders to the chef The delivery not in the order of receipt  of the coupons ensured that the average process time was 5-10 min In the evening the receipt

of the coupons is very orderly  with all applicants standing in a line and the guy who collects the order has but to stand at his place and simply accept the coupons The order time now is 10-20 min

The above two events though not connected kept me thinking whether a certain amount of chaos dependent on a certain inherent human traits was good for a process or a system

For this I required the assistance of the denizens of the blogosphere to point me out in the correct direction to reach a person article or body that can help me figure out the validity of my claim

PS:The writing style of this article is inspired by a brilliant Novel called Blindness by Jose Saramago A Must  read

This entry was posted in SciTech and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Optimum Chaos

  1. vinusweety says:

    Satts… Nice blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

